clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Rutgers punter Adam Korsak named Ray Guy Award semifinalist

Find out how you can vote for the Aussie wonder here

Minnesota v Rutgers Photo by Corey Perrine/Getty Images

Rutgers Punter Adam Korsak was named a semifinalist for the Ray Guy Award on Monday due to his stellar season so far. The Augusta Sports Council started with 78 punters on the Watch List before the season and has now narrowed it down to 10. They’ll name three finalists on November 25th with the winner being named on December 12th at the College Football Awards in Atlanta and aired live on ESPN.

The voting pool is comprised of sports information directors of FBS programs, national media and previous Ray Guy Award winners, as well as the fans, which will equal one national selection committee member’s vote. The fan vote counts in determining the finalists and the winner.

Korsak has been punting at a consistently high level all season. From the Rutgers press release:

“In his second season playing football, Korsak has helped Rutgers lead the Big Ten and rank 14th nationally with a net punt of 42 yards per attempt. The RU net punt school record of 40.1 yards was set last season in his rookie campaign. He has pinned 28 punts inside the 20, 16 inside the 10 and eight inside the 5 with only one touchback this year. Korsak has forced 29 fair catches with 46-of-63 punts not returned.”

“In addition, Korsak has averaged 43.9 yards per punt this year to rank third in the conference and threaten Ryan Anderson’s school standard of 44.4 established in 2017. He has 10 boots of at least 50 yards and three of 60 with a long of 69 at Iowa that settled at the 1.”

The sophomore has won three Ray Guy Punter of the Week Awards. It started with a tremendous performance in week 2 at Iowa, which was so good Hawkeye fans were in an uproar he wasn’t also named the Big Ten Special Teams Player of the Week. In fact, even as Korsak won the Ray Guy weekly award again for performances against Boston College and Indiana, he continued to be snubbed by the Big Ten. It would be sweet justice if Korsak was named a finalist for the national award for sure!

To vote for Korsak to be named one of three finalists, click here.

2019 Ray Guy Award Semifinalists

Adam Korsak, Rutgers

Dane Roy, Houston

Joseph Charlton, South Carolina

Max Duffy, Kentucky

Michael Turk, Arizona State

Oscar Bradburn, Virginia Tech

Owen White, Navy

Sterling Hofrichter, Syracuse

Tommy Townsend, Florida

Tyson Dyer, New Mexico