clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Big Ten Football Schedules For 2020 & 2021 Released

We review conference slates for Rutgers for both seasons

NCAA Football: Eastern Michigan at Rutgers Noah K. Murray-USA TODAY Sports

The Big Ten conference released the football schedules for the 2020 and 2021 seasons on Tuesday afternoon. For the crossover games against the West Division in 2020, Rutgers will host Illinois and Nebraska, while traveling to Purdue. For 2021, Rutgers will host Wisconsin and travel to Illinois and Northwestern.

In terms of road games during those seasons, Rutgers will travel to Purdue and Northwestern for the first time since joining the Big Ten. They’ll make their first trip to Illinois later this season on October 14th.

Rutgers also has a home and home series with both Temple and UCLA scheduled for non-conference play in 2020 and 2021, per previous reports here and here. One game remains open for both seasons.

In terms of the Big Ten schedule for Rutgers, they are now scheduled to end the 2019, 2020, and 2021 seasons playing against Penn State. In fact the November portion for both seasons is exceptionally brutal. Rutgers will close 2020 against Michigan at home, at Michigan State and then host Penn State to end the season. Rutgers actually plays the same three teams in November to end the 2018 campaign as well, with the only difference being the last game of the season is at Michigan State.

In November 2021, Rutgers hosts Wisconsin, travels to Northwestern, hosts Michigan State and closes at Happy Valley against Penn State.

For what it is worth, Keith Sargeant of NJ Advance Media cites a source that Rutgers may look to cancel the 2020 & 2021 series with UCLA, which he explains here.

Here is a look at the full schedules for both the 2020 & 2021 seasons, as of now:


Sept 5 At UCLA

Sept 12 OPEN

Sept 19 Temple

Sept 26 At Ohio State

Oct 3 Illinois

Oct 10 At Purdue

Oct 17 Indiana

Oct 24 Nebraska

Oct 31 At Maryland

Nov 7 BYE

Nov 14 Michigan

Nov 21 At Michigan State

Nov 28 Penn State


Sept 4 At Temple

Sept 11 UCLA

Sept 18 OPEN

Sept 25 At Michigan

Oct 2 BYE

Oct 9 Maryland

Oct 16 At Indiana

Oct 23 Ohio State

Oct 30 At Illinois

Nov 6 Wisconsin

Nov 13 At Northwestern

Nov 20 Michigan State

Nov 27 At Penn State

For a look at the 2018 & 2019 seasons, see below.


Sept 1 Texas State

Sept. 8 At Ohio State

Sept 15 At Kansas

Sept. 22 Buffalo

Sept. 29 Indiana

Oct. 6 Illinois

Oct. 13 At Maryland

Oct. 20 Northwestern

Oct. 27 BYE

Nov. 3 at Wisconsin

Nov. 10 Michigan

Nov. 17 Penn State

Nov. 24 At Michigan State


Aug. 31 UMass

Sept. 7 At Iowa

Sept. 14 BYE

Sept. 21 Boston College

Sept. 28 At Michigan

Oct. 5 Maryland

Oct. 12 At Indiana

Oct. 19 Minnesota

Oct. 26 Liberty

Nov. 2 At Illinois

Nov. 9 BYE

Nov. 16 Ohio State

Nov. 23 Michigan State

Nov. 30 At Penn State

For my previous analysis on the 2019 schedule, click here.