clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

MSoc Wright named to MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List

Six Big Ten soccer athletes - three men and three women - were named to the pre-season watch list for college soccer's highest honor.

Among those athletes is Rutgers' junior forward Jason Wright.

The Big Ten announced the conference is also represented on the male side by a pair of Indiana standouts in junior defender Grant Lillard and senior forward Tanner Thompson, along with Wright. Both Thompson and Wright were NSCAA All-America selections last season.

Wisconsin senior midfielder Rose Lavelle, Minnesota senior forward Simone Kolander and Penn State junior Megan Schafer are the Big Ten students on the women's version of this year's Hermann Trophy watch list. Lavelle and Kolander were NSCAA All-Americans last year, with Lavelle also being chosen a semifinalist for the 2015 Hermann Trophy that ultimately was earned by Penn State's Raquel Rodriguez.

Uht was the unanimous Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year  in 2015.  He made Second Team NSCAA All-American and NSCAA First Team All-Region.  Wright was also a unanimous First Team All-Big Ten selection as well as being a four-time Big Ten Offensive Player of the Week.

Following three exhibition matches, Rutgers Men's Soccer open its season at home on August 26 at home.