clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Rutgers football wins Lambert-Meadowlands Trophy

The annual award is presented to the best Division I FBS team in the Northeast.

Rick Osentoski-USA TODAY Sports

Add a new trophy for Rutgers' first season in the B1G. Earlier today, the Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) named the Rutgers Scarlet Knights as winners of the 2014 Lambert-Meadowlands Trophy, awarded to the best team in Division I FBS. It is the first time RU claimed the trophy since the award was first presented in 1936.

Teams are automatically eligible for the Lambert-Meadowlands Trophy if they reside in New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, or a New England state. Teams from Maryland, West Virginia, Delaware, and the District of Columbia are eligible if half their schedule is against teams from NJ, NY, PA or New England. With realignment destroying the Big East conference for football and sending the West Virginia Mountaineers to the Big 12, this award will most likely become a trophy battle between Syracuse, Pittsburgh, Connecticut, Penn State, Boston College, and Rutgers. Three of those teams had a losing record for 2014.

This is Kyle Flood's third Lambert Award, as he was a member of award-winning FCS teams in 1999 (Hofstra and Delaware) and 2003 (Delaware).