FanShot

2012 Rutgers football schedule officially released

5

This year's opponents were already common knowledge, but the news of the day comes with the specific order. Saturday, September 1 at Tulane Saturday, September 8 Howard (1 p.m.) Saturday, September 15 at USF* (Subject to date change) Saturday, September 22 at Arkansas Saturday, September 29 Idle Saturday, October 6 Connecticut* Saturday, October 13 Syracuse* Saturday, October 20 at Temple* Saturday, October 27 Kent State (Homecoming, 3:30 p.m.) Saturday, November 3 Idle Saturday, November 10 Army Saturday, November 17 at Cincinnati* Saturday, November 24 at Pittsburgh* Thursday, November 29 Louisville* (ESPN, 7:30 p.m.) *Denotes BIG EAST game Obviously, the makeup of the schedule suggests that Rutgers and Louisville should be heavy Big East preseason favorites. Louisville on home, Thursday night, on ESPN? Yeah, that'll work. What's weird is that no other games are currently scheduled to be national telecasts. You have to think that the Arkansas game will get picked up in some capacity. Possibly Temple, Cincy, or Pitt too if they have decent years. Speaking of which, the USF date is still tentative because ESPN wants that to be a Thursday, and neither team is exactly thrilled about the prospect. Only six home games (thanks to the Big East, the most incompetent organization this side of MF Global) makes for a challenging schedule. Still, this definitely looks like 9-3 on paper.

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join On the Banks

You must be a member of On the Banks to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at On the Banks. You should read them.

Join On the Banks

You must be a member of On the Banks to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at On the Banks. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9347_tracker